A Star Wars Galaxies player city on Naboo, Eclipse Galaxy

Lianorm Telegraph #66 @26-06-2011

Editor’s note: This issue was largely compiled by the residents of Lianorm before the shocking news of SWG’s impending closure was announced on Friday, 24 June.

TWILIGHT SETTLES UNEASILY UPON THE GALAXY
Announcement of SWG’s end leaves community distraught. As we all wonder how to cope, Wolf sends these words of advice

Twilight over Lianorm25-06-2011@Lianorm – by -Wolf – Wolf FreeLoader slumped down into the dusty chair. He was beat and exhausted from years of underworld living and a life on the edge. He reflected on his times in the galaxy; the good and the bad. A long time ago someone had said something to him that he hadn’t quite understood at the time. “Enjoy the journey, the destination always comes,” they’d said. It had been when he was in the Empire, serving in the Navy. The officer who told him vanished a few days after that, winding up defecting to the Rebellion. A few months later Wolf himself left the Imperial Navy for a low profile life, one that was guilt free and led on his own terms.
    The saying came back to him now as thought about the journey. He understood now. The finality of the destination suddenly became all too real. He thought about his journey to this point and complete understanding settled upon him.

That’s what the sunset of SWG is: the destination. We all knew it would end at some point. We all know it’s just a game. Games have endings. Even the MMOs that last a long time and have a ‘consistent’ world to them end. However, think not of the ending, but of the journey you have all enjoyed so far, and of the final few moments that will be played out here over the coming few months.
    Do all those things you wanted. Respec to those untried professions. Try PvP. Dare to fly in space. Whatever it is, just do it, and love it. Also, love your friends, the people you met here. Some of them may be very close and special to you now, but even the casual ones are all people behind an avatar — every one — so give them your thanks and have a good time with them, at least once more.
    Make peace with those whom you perhaps didn’t need to chafe against. At least be cordial! It’s a time to bring it all together and just play the game, as a community united. Get the most fun we can, and go out heads held high.

LIANORM’S NEXT BIG EVENT IN THE PLANNING
Are Drag Queen Races Coming to Lianorm?

24-06-2011@Lianorm – by Bioge – There has been a lot of talk about Lianorm’s next big event. Race enthusiasts hinted that a drag race featuring some of the galaxy’s leading pod racers would grace Lianorm’s hallowed streets and boulevards, but protests from a Green Faction (led by Tauvo) pointed out that this would probably scorch all of Lianorm’s grass, leaving brown skid marks staining Lianorm and her honor.
    All was not lost; Peaguses proposed we hold Drag Queen Races! Assembling the galaxy’s best cross-dressers, transvestites, and hermaphrodites, a race (perhaps even a death race) could be run through the streets. There would be male, female, and even an in between division. “I think if we throw a rancor into the mix, we’d have something special,” said a starry-eyed Peaguses.
    And what do the Lianormers think? So far 100% of Lianormer’s support the idea (8 out of 8 Lianormers in a random poll). Even NEI’s Leader (and Lianormer) Wolf thought it was a good idea.
    Mayor Alyxa had this to say: “What a wonderful idea! I think this would be a great opportunity for the citizens of Lianorm to come out of their closets and have a dashingly good time together!”

Elusia says “Do you know that…”
– Lianorm is home to the Galaxy’s largest fish?
– Wookiees actually jump in the water to catch fish with their teeth?
– Bothans like to mark their territory on the city’s lamp posts?
– Mon Calamari like to mark their territory in the lake?

LIANORM REVAMP ENTERS NEW PHASE
The coming and going of citizens prompts an energetic response from the Mayor

23-06-2011@Lianorm – by Azira – The Lianorm Revamp is the official name for the ongoing restructuring and maintenance of the town layout. The project was started some years ago by several members of the founding community, the United Lowlands, and is now carried on today by our current mayor Alyxa. Recently there have been a number of citizens coming and going as they pack up to head off on new travels, or came home to settle down in Lianorm once again.
    Some of those off on some Galactic travels were relatives of Deputy Mayor Iv’va, who have strongly supported the city for years. “We love Lianorm and are sad to be leaving,” said dancer Whitesox, “But while I’m out of town on adventures to the Outer Rim, cousin Iv’va will be taking care of my home. He can’t do that the Galactic Civic Authorities packed it up after 90 days.”
    The buildings’ relocation created some gaps in Lianorm’s streets. However, the streets were speedily restored with help from the relatives of other citizens like Ma’at and Devina. Other spots of prime real estate were quickly snapped up by new citizens such as Giradan the Ithorian trader, and Sasquit the Wookiee.
    But with an array of fancy new housing options available these days, Mayor Alyxa is struggling to find people willing to opt for the more traditional Nabooian-style home. “Lianorm wouldn’t be Lianorm without the charming Nabooian styled streets,” said Mayor Alyxa, “That’s why we’re always delighted when someone applies to erect a Naboo style structure in town. The effect is a lovely, charming town that is a pleasure to live in for citizens and visitors alike.”
    It’s the opinion of this reporter that running a city is not just about the mayor’s organisational skills, but more about the effort the community puts in to creating a pleasant place to live, something that Lianorm’s residents excel at. It’s one of the reasons myself, and many others, are proud to call the town home.

AND THEY CALLED IT WOOKIEE LOVE?
Sasquit seen making out with Mara Jade

24-06-2011@Lianorm – by Bioge – On the glorious first day of Empire Day, Sasquit was seen in a passionate embrace with Mara Jade, the famous Imperial Operative. “Who knew she was into Wookiees?” said a surpised Iloc.
    Sasquit is a total gentleman, not one given to kissing and telling, but he did reveal there was some kissing a la French. “She seems to like furry Banthas” commented a happy Sasquit.
    Will that mean Mara will become a NEI and Lianorm fixture? More to come on this story…

LIANORM ADVICE COLUMN: DEAR AUNT BERU

Dear Aunt Beru,
    I’ve recently been experiencing a troubling problem. You see, my boyfriend spends all his time with his Wookie buddy working on his ship. Normally, I wouldn’t mind but they get nothing accomplished. They just drink Corellian Ale and break things. I’ve tried helping them but that nerf-herder and I just end up in a fight. What should I do to save my relationship?
Sincerely,
“Fed Up Princess”

Dear “Fed Up,”
    I don’t think the problem is with “the boys” hanging out together breaking things. I think the problem is that you feel that they aren’t spending their time wisely. So, the problem really lies with you. I suspect you are a control freak in Princess clothing. Try kicking up your heels every once in a while with them. Enjoy the Ale and break things every now and then. You don’t need that hyperdrive, anyway.
-Aunt Beru

****Advertisements****
POSITIONS VACANT: Got a vendor? Consider placing it in the Lianorm Mall! The Mall is a stone’s throw from the shuttleport which makes it an ideal selling spot. We’re looking for traders who can provide quality goods such as droids, housing, food, vehicles, power bits, and possibly even BM pets and supplies! Sound like your business? Contact Bialar, -Wolf or Alyxa for access to place your vendor.

WANTED: Alyxa wants to buy your junk hides!! Whatever amount of poor quality hide you’ve got, big or small, I’ll offer you 2cpu for it. Please make any offers to “Alyxa’s Array” vendor in the Lianorm Mall. Thank you!
*************************

A LETTER FROM A CITIZEN
Greetings, Citizens of Lianorm.
    After recently returning to Lianorm with an eye to settling down amongst you, I find that I am called away again once more unavoidably. Fortunately, I have had some small advance warning of this coming deployment – and have 6 months to re-organize my affairs.
    I’m hoping to pass on my business resources to a deeply committed crafter that shares my sense of altruism. Please contact Giradan directly via holomail should you be willing to take control of the resources in his crafting business.
Good day
Giradan Girithlin
Proprieter, Naboo Engineering Workshops -NEW-

<OOC>
In other words, I’ve been a crafter since launch. I want to spend my last 6 months having a chance to explore another side of the game and play with Jedi and BM. So I’m offering all my crates and resources for free to someone who wants to play crafter until we close. I’d also like that person to be actively engaged in making the last few months fun for other players – so I’d prefer them to go to someone who will sell items very cheaply and/or give them away altogether. That said, they’ll be yours and you can do with them as you like!
    They are from Starsider. They are not vast (I couldn’t bring everything) and they are not, by and large, uber. I do have some 44 BER harvies and some elite harvester free power deeds you can also have. I have a set of factories on the edge of town I’ll gladly admin you on as well.
    I am more than happy to make these all available to anyone (or everyone) for their use. But I have no money, really – having spent most of it kitting up with factories and deeds and such here – so would be appreciative of a donation towards getting me started as a jedi BM – be that via a gift of a pet, some credit resources, or even just good advice and being willing to take the noob along on events.

Let me know by emailing Giradan in game.
Best wishes to us all
David (Gir)


THE FISHING COLUMN
24-06-2011@Lianorm – by Azira – With Hurst away on his vacations, I’ve stepped in to bring you the highlights from the fishing world this week. And what an exciting couple of weeks it’s been!
    The previous week saw Lianorm leap ahead on the leader boards with an almost 23m lead. That’s got to be an Eclipse record! The competition was left standing in the dust with their meagre 18m hauls leaving Lianorm as the clear winner! Balthus and Hurst headed up the leader board in first and second place and deserve congratulations for their awesome hauls.
    This last week has been a little tougher. Not only were we a man down with Hurst away, but we also saw some vigorous new competition enter into the leader tables in the shape of Galacic Retreat. Lianorm held the lead for most of the week but was knocked down into second on Tuesday. Lianormer’s rose to the challenge and took back first place just a few hours before the close of this week’s leader boards and showing the newcomers just who the boss is, with a respectable 21.35m lead.
    Previous arch-rival ‘Storm Haven’ hasn’t placed on the boards for a few weeks now… I wonder what happened to them?
    In other fishing news this week; Alyxa has caught a Gigantic Record Naboo Ray. Measuring in at .87m, this whopper of a ray outscored the previous galactic record held by Alikat and scored Lianorm another travel point! Interestingly, the ray was caught in our home lake of Lianorm, near the bunker hill to the north. “There was some good Five Star fishing over there, so I settled in for a long session.” said Alyxa. “I caught several big ‘uns to get the town off to a good start for next week’s competition, but I was taken totally by surprise when I got a massive tug on my line. I thought he was going to pull me in!”
    We also caught up with furry fisherman Balthus’dire to ask him what his secret was for catching three fish each measuring over 1m in the space of one week. Everyone knows that wookiees have a special prowess when it comes to their survival in nature. But Balthus, after shaking off the excess water from his shaggy coat simply said, “There is no secret”. One can only speculate that he’s just one lucky wookiee.

Azira interviews a new citizen: Ma’at Isi

*Let me begin by welcoming you to Lianorm! My first question is quite obvious: how did you come to live here?

I became a resident of Lianorm because I have always admired the city. It is also located on my favorite planet, Naboo. I have lived on Naboo for a few years in another city but it had become a safe haven for Rebel conspirators so I had to leave, sadly. Lianorm was my first choice, and luckily, I was welcomed there.

*Please tell us a little about yourself so existing residents can get to know you a little better.

I started playing SWG in 2003. I played on Eclipse and Flurry servers. My very first guild was AotOR (Rebel). We started out near Anchorhead on Tatooine but when player cities were introduced, we made our city, Ratava, on Lok. A few years later, I was asked by Bhaylor to join him and Devina as a councilor in the guild LOK, and to become the mayor of Purgatory, Lok. After leaving LOK, I moved on to guilds such as WOOK and -V- before deciding to go Imperial to join -CU-. Dues, of Hyperdrive Radio, passed on to me the honor of becoming the mayor of the first Entertainer City on Eclipse, Xanadu Bay, Naboo. A very good friend of mine, Eponine, made the suggestion to form a band so we made Total Eclipse Band, based out of XB. After a while, I had to deal with some RL stuff so that was when I had to leave the game for a few years. Upon my return, I found myself guildless and homeless. I ran into some “old friends” from NEI and the rest, they say, is history.

*What do you think of the town and its residents so far? Are they friendly? Heard any interesting gossip?

I really enjoy living in Lianorm. The manicured look is very appealing to me. The residents I have run across are very friendly. I especially love the fishing there! I was lucky enough to find a vacancy right next to the water. Sometimes my neighbor, Ba’st (whom I really think is one of those evil sith!), has these really crazy parties. I hear crashing and banging a lot. I have no idea what is going on over there but I would avoid her bunker if I were you.

*Do you enjoy living on Naboo? Or would you ideally like to make your home on another planet?

I spent many years living on Tatooine and Lok so Naboo is like heaven to me. I don’t want to live anywhere else!

*Do you have any plans for the future? What professions would you like to try out? What are your expectations of the game?

I always have lots of plans! One of them is that I would really like to finish building a cloud house so that I can decorate it and throw lots and lots of parties. Also, I would like to finish working on my beast master. I had an elder CH and I absolutely love pets in the game. I recently came back from a two year break so I’m trying not to have any real “expectations.” Over the years, I’ve learned what to expect from SOE so I’m doing my best to not focus on the issues, or the past, and just have fun. SWG has sooo much potential and it’s all up to the individual to make the most of it.

*What are your favourite in-game hobbies and activities?

My favorite hobbies are fishing, decorating, entertaining, and spending money (pretty much like real life). I also like to quest with my real life, and in game, husband, FaytleSyn.

*Do you have any comments about the current Galactic Civil War that’s ravaging the galaxy?

I really feel like the tide of battle is turning in the Emperor’s favor. While I do not support everything he does, I feel it’s important for our society to be stable and relatively peaceful for all citizens. I was a rebel for the first half of my life, and very involved in the rebellion. For now, I try to avoid it when ever possible because I’m very tired of all the bloodshed.

*What do you think of your associates in NEI? Does the guild suit you?

As Jabba said, They are my kind of scum!

*Lastly, is there anything you would like to say to our readers?

If you ever need help with anything, please don’t hesitate to ask me. I have traders, combat toons, and buffers.

*Thank you for this interview. It is a pleasure to have you as a new neighbour and I hope you will enjoy living in Lianorm for a long time to come!

—–End of edition—–
Copyright: Azira – Lianorm, Naboo, Eclipse Galaxy
Lianorm Telegraph archive: http://bit.ly/lia_telegraph
Join the conversation: get on the Lianorm City Chat in-game!

Leave a comment