A Star Wars Galaxies player city on Naboo, Eclipse Galaxy

Lianorm Telegraph #67 @10-07-2011

OUTSIDER ATTEMPTS TO TAKE OVER LIANORM
Attempt to oust Mayor Alyxa thwarted by loyal citizens

6-07-2011@Lianorm – by Azira – When Mayor Alyxa welcomed the town’s newest resident a few weeks ago little did she know that he had designs on running the town himself. Epekai’s recent registration into the Mayoral Elections shocked and angered citizens, who turned out in droves to show their loyalty for their beloved Mayor Alyxa.
     When questioned about his motivations for the attempted takeover, Epekai could only repeat, “I only want to be mayor of a great city before the game ends”. When this reporter challenged his statement and qualifications, the would-be mayor issued threats and later went to Mos Eisley to attempt to recruit an assassin to kill her!
    Town spectators question the purity of Epekai’s motives, with one anonymous citizen saying “I think he’s just attention-seeking”.
    Epekai has made claims that he was briefly mayor of another successful city on Eclipse, Omni Freight Yard on Talus. However, reliable sources revealed this statement to be untrue. Epekai has since been banned from Omni Freight and many of its buildings for harassing the mayor.
    Mayor Alyxa, who has been Lianorm’s longest serving Mayor, also found that Epekai was pursuing her in a harassing manner these last few weeks, but shrugged it off as typical new player impatience. “I was as surprised as anyone when he registered to run for mayor and made his intentions to take over clear. While it’s flattering that he calls the city ‘great’, his actions clearly disrespect all those who helped make the city great, past and present. I’m prepared to give away a lot to further another player’s enjoyment of the game, but Lianorm certainly is not on that list!”
    Current voting stats look to be set up for a landslide in Alyxa’s favour, with 33 for the incumbent and 1 for challenger, namely, himself). “Looks like he’s going to have to find another ‘great town’ in which to make himself unpopular”, said one passerby.

IV’VA REELS IN FIRST ELUSIVE FISH
Deputy Mayor reveals his technique in a candid interview

Iv'va's fishing hut by Lianorm Lake07-07-2011@Lianorm – by Azira – After the recent city-wide announcement, nobody could fail to know about Iv’va’s latest success with the fishies this week. The Elusive Dantooine Laa is another in a long line of amazing catches by our Deputy Mayor. Looking around his trophy house at all the record fish he’s caught since last October, it’s quite evident that Iv’va seems to be more fortunate than the average fisherman. But just how does he come by all this luck? We sat down with Iv’va to find out.

Iv’va, first of all, what’s your secret to fishing success?
– Perseverance. I just keep going, trying not to lose heart at not catching fish and getting rusty cases. Also the new synthetic bait helps a lot.

You caught your elusive fish on Dantooine, but do you have a favourite place to cast your line?
– Well Dantooine is now close to the top of my list but it still can’t beat a lovely spot on Endor that I’ve found. No trouble there and normally some wonderful Lantern birds fly nearby.

What got you into fishing in the first place?
– I first got started with an order from Anish as she needed a schematic for a fish tank. Since then I have helped others get their schems and sent them Anish’s way to get them crafted.

There are always times between catches when waiting can be dull. What do you do to pass the time?
– I like to take a few datapads along; one with manuscripts on and another to write anything down that I think is worth it, like a to-do list or ideas that I’ll forget otherwise.

You caught your Elusive Laa after 2515 fish, but would you call yourself a luckier than average fisherman?
– I have noticed that I do seem to be fairly lucky at fishing. I can’t tell you why this is. A guild mate joked that I paid off a GM to get this lucky. I don’t even wear a luck suit (I may try that one day).

Finally, do you have any fishing tips to share with readers?
– Always watch your bobber! Try to find a nice fishing spot 4/0 – 4/1 – 5/0 -5/1 and then in that area find a spot where you can walk around in the water if possible, as it makes it easier to walk to your bobber once you receive the message “You reel in your catch”. I have found better fish when there is a bit of veg at the location so I prefer a 4/1 or 5/1 spot.

Thank you Iv’va, and best of luck for your future catches. If you would like to see the elusive fish itself, along with the rest of Iv’va’s extensive fish collection, head on over to his trophy hut on the shores of Lianorm Lake at -747 1300.

Regarding Nabooian wildlife, Beast Master Xiramia says “Do you know that…”
– Cheese made from fambaa milk is among the most pungent in the galaxy?
– A shaupaut will stop what it’s doing instantly to scratch if it has an itchy butt?
– The mott (Naboo pig) are all but extinct?
– A plains hunter is a rare sight these days?
– A gnort can hear another gnort’s KAIRW from over 6km away?
– A chuba can jump higher than Master Yoda?

MAYOR SET TO CREATE HOLO DOCUMENT OF LIANORM
Come December, all will not be lost

08-06-2011@Lianorm – by Azira – Lianorm’s days may be numbered but Mayor Alyxa doesn’t intend to let the memory of our beloved home town be lost to the ether just yet. Geared up with the latest in holo-capture technology our fuzzy leader will begin creating a video document of the town next week. The plan is to capture in detail the town’s layout, the city hall and some of the town’s notable and best decorated structures. The finished holo-recording will later be available for anyone to view on Lianorm’s holosite. “I figured it is best to do it now rather than leave it to near the end,” said the Mayor. “At least now most of the city’s structure and streets are intact. We can keep the fond memory of our town as it always was – a living Nabooian metropolis.”

FREELOADER’S CUNNING COMBAT COLUMN
This week -Wolf talks about the history of the DE-10: the ultimate gunslinger accessory for the SWG age.

So where does it come from? The DE-10 has always been associated with the Death Watch Bunker (DWB) and has had a few incarnations and tweaks over the years. What’s never changed though is the way you obtain one: go to the DWB and kill things. Eventually something (humanoid) would drop either the schematic or the barrel, both of which are needed for the creation of the weapon. Originally crafted by Master Weaponsmiths, the schematic became a ‘Munitions’ specialty after the NGE. But as an odd tidbit, this is an energy weapon that uses a projectile barrel – just think about that for a second.

Originally, anyone could use any weapon but would suffer huge penalties on accuracy and damage for not being ‘certified’ for that weapons use. The DE-10 required Master Pistoleer certification. In the CU, certifications became a licence to wield that weapon while no-one else could. With the NGE, things loosened up again and, once again, anyone could use almost any weapon (not sabers, for example) but now suffered no real penalties for using them, aside from the odd special that wouldn’t work with certain types.

The look and feel of the weapon have gone through changes too. Early versions of the DE-10 fired blue bolts with a generic sound effect. This was even mentioned in the weapon’s description until it changed to red bolts (as a standard for basic energy weapons). As with a lot of the weapons preCU, the pistol could be made with or without a scope which could enhance its accuracy properties. This was reflected in the weapon’s visual appearance. You’d have to have been mad to go to the trouble of looting it all not to enhance it with something basic like a scope! With the CU/NGE all DE-10s assumed the scoped look.
The sound also got a boost to a much meatier and unique effect, although it never quite sounded like I thought it should based on its look.

Damage wise, it’s always been a good hitter but equally it has been somewhat style over substance. Other guns often would equal or exceed its powers, even when enhanced. PreNGE krayt tissues could be used, looted from krayt dragons of course! When the CU/NGE hit, weapon damage became almost inconsequential and most guns were “ruined” during the conversion process.

When the devs realised they had royally screwed the pooch, damage once again became mostly weapon based rather than character level based. The DE-10, however, suffered by being bundled into the CL80 energy weapons category and shared its peak DPS with all other CL80 guns, which rendered it a weapon chosen completely for style. With the trader upgrades though, all weapons were able to be crafted at various combat levels, with the damage increasing accordingly for the higher level ones. Special-looted weapons such as the DE-10 were given slight bonuses to allow for the complexity in attaining them. Once again, the DE-10 became a worthy contender for ‘best gun’.

This is by no means a comprehensive history/stat sheet on the DE-10 but I found it fun to write, hopefully you enjoyed reading it. If I made any errors, feel free to mail me and correct me, I’ll credit you next issue. Take care, till next time!

LIANORM ADVICE COLUMN: DEAR AUNT BERU
Dear Aunt Beru,
I urgently need your assistance! There is a man in my life that I absolutely hate. He is so arrogant that he thinks the whole galaxy revolves around him. My boss told me I have to “terminate” him but I secretly have feelings for him. How can you love and hate a man at the same time? I want to please my boss, but at the same time, the thought of turning my saber against this man brings so much sadness. What should I do?
Sincerely, Red-Headed Vixen

Dear “Vixen,”
Sometimes there is a very thin line between love and hate and you seem like a very fiery and passionate person. Why don’t you ask this man to meet you on a deserted planet for a picnic? That way, you can get to know him better. Maybe he isn’t as bad as you think. If you don’t like him, problem solved! But if you do, perhaps you could kill his clone, instead?
Aunt Beru


THE FISHING COLUMN
10-07-2011@Lianorm – by Hurst – My light was blinking wildly on my data pad. It was a message from the editor of the telegraph. After checking my message, I realized that I was extremely late getting my Fishing Article into the office before the deadline! My reception out here is horrible to say the least, as a sand storm seems to be brewing in the north, heading for you know who. Figures.
    Two weeks ago, while I was on holiday visiting many ancient galaxies, I was proud to see Balthus’Dire and that fishing psychopath Iv’va Problem take rampant charge on the fishing leaderboards, putting Lianorm into first place yet again. These two were the driving force of an unbelievable week. I bow to you both. Fine job!
    This past week, I found NEI city Bandit’s mayor Oo’tini taking up a fishing pole and casting it into the competition. She did extremely well, and was totally excited to be doing so well. Iv’va was able to hang onto 3rd place, while I came in at a tragic 8th. The fish just were not biting for the Hurster this week. The puny fish I was catching wouldn’t make a meal for a baby Ewok, let alone contend with the leaders of the fishing board. Iv’va finally landed an Elusive Fish as well. As you all may know, the first in all of the Eclipse Galaxy. Great job Iv’va. From one fisher to another, “You’ve Got Bait!”
    But even with all this excitement, Lianorm was left dusting itself off in 3rd place as Bandit’s took 2nd. As a guild though, NEI did extremely well and maintained 1st place.
    All-in-all it has been a good couple of weeks. I must go for now. The storm seems to be moving quicker and I have to get under cover to avoid getting sandblasted. There seems to be a figure moving my way as well…

Azira interviews a new citizen: Sasquit

*Let me begin by welcoming you to Lianorm! My first question is quite obvious: how did you come to live here?
a. I asked a senior NEI if I could join the guild and was given an interview. I was accepted and then became a resident.

*Please tell us a little about yourself so existing residents can get to know you a little better.
a. I have played on several servers and decided to make a new toon here because of Galaxy Chat. I get on well with people, I don’t take things too seriously and generally just do things as it comes and enjoy the game.

*What do you think of the town and its residents so far? Are they friendly? Heard any interesting gossip? 🙂
a. The town is big and well laid out. I don’t spend much time at town much though. I haven’t come across any residence that have not been friendly.

*Do you enjoy living on Naboo? Or would you ideally like to make your home on another planet?
a. Naboo is a nice planet, though any planet is as good as another. I’m not particularly minded about where I live so long the city layout is well designed and organised, which Lianorm is.

*Do you have any plans for the future? What professions would you like to try out? What are your expectations of the game in its final days?

a. I had a lot of plans for the future when I made this toon but with the recent unfortunate news, I see little point investing anything long-term into the game now (sad but true, at least for me). My goal now is just try to enjoy time we have left, whatever that may be. I have given thoughts about going commando though 🙂 … and then going Commando profession!

*What are your favourite in-game hobbies and activities?
a. Despite not having fished at all on this character, I enjoy fishing. Not sure as to why I haven’t done so might be something to do with grinding to lvl 90 and gearing myself up, doing Heroics. Then the bad news hit us. It kinda took away some of the joy of long-term progression with the things I normally associate this with. I’ll more than likely to start fishing soon anyway. I like doing Heroics and running around Special Forces either on my own or with a group.

*Do you have any comments about the current Galactic Civil War that’s ravaging the galaxy?
a. Many will continue to suffer from this war. The Emperor and the Rebel Command need to come to a truce as it is already shown by the example of the people. I see many Imperials and Rebels working together such as running Heroics and building a ludicrous economy. If the war persist, then there has to be a victor along with casualties. I should like to see changes made to existing laws by either side to provide what is better for the galaxy. Order without unfair suppression.

*What do you think of your associates in NEI? Does the guild suit you?
a. The guild hasn’t given me any cause for concerns and from what I’m experiencing, everyone seems to be getting on well. I don’t know everyone in NEI but the people who I have come across and frequently done things with appear decent folk with a good sense of humour.

*Lastly, is there anything you would like to say to our readers?
a. I am not a short Wookiee … I’m in fact an Ewok with GGM (Gigantism-Growth Mutation).

*Thank you for this interview. It is a pleasure to have you as a new neighbour and I hope you will enjoy living in Lianorm until the very end!

—–End of edition—–
Copyright: Azira – Lianorm, Naboo, Eclipse Galaxy
Lianorm Telegraph archive: http://bit.ly/lia_telegraph
Join the conversation: get on the Lianorm City Chat in-game!

One response

  1. Love it! Don’t forget to stop by Ma’at’s bunker and get a screenie of the hot tub and dressing room! 😀

    July 10, 2011 at 23:13

Leave a Reply

